17% Occupancy Tax and 13% B&B Tax Increases
Your testimony and voice on why this 2% increase is damaging to the lodging industry is crucial.
• Contact your local representatives and tell them why this increase is destructive to your business and the tourism industry. CLICK HERE for information and talking points about CT occupancy taxes.
$15 Minimum Wage Increase
The bill passed the Labor Committee and is now in review of the CT Senate and House. Several versions are in discussion which include the increase to begin in 2020, or using an incremental increase by either 2022 or 2023.
Paid Family and Medical Leave
The bill passed the Labor Committee and now is in review of the CT Senate and House. Each employee would receive up to 12 weeks, every two years for medical leave. Requires to pay full pay up to $1000 a week, per employee. Would begin in 2021, funding payments start in 2020. There is no seed capital for the fund. Deducts 0.5 percent of pay from every working person’s paycheck. Any business with 1 or more employees would be required to pay in.
The bill passed the Labor Committee and now is in review of the CT Senate and House. Employers would have to provide written schedules for hourly employees two weeks at a time. Employers shall pay an employee one-half of the employee's regular rate for any scheduled work hours the employee does not work due to the employer cancelling or reducing the employee's scheduled work hours.
State Office of Tourism - Economic Impact of Tourism. The Connecticut Office of Tourism regularly tracks the economic impact of the industry on the state — including its effect on business sales, job growth and tax revenues.
CLA Legislative Newsletters (CLICK HERE to subscribe)
American Hotel & Lodging Association - Federal Issues: The indispensable resource serving, supporting and advocating on behalf of the American hospitality industry.
HotelsACT: HotelsACT is an affiliate grassroots advocacy organization of the American Hotel & Lodging Association (AHLA) created to enhance hotelier’s ability to influence policy debates by focusing on the economic impact of the lodging industry across the country.
Your Voice is Important! CLICK HERE for a CT Citizen's Guide to make your voice heard.
Room Occupancy Tax and Sales and Use Taxes for Hotels, Motels, and Bed & Breakfasts
Imposition of Room Occupancy Tax: The room occupancy tax applies to the transfer for compensation or other consideration of the occupancy of a room or rooms in a hotel, motel, or bed and breakfast establishment for 30 consecutive calendar days or less.
There are two rates of tax for room occupancy:
Human Trafficking Awareness Poster Regulation
Public Act 17-31, An Act Concerning Human Trafficking, Section 5, requires lodging properties to display a poster, developed by the Office of Victim Services.
Human Trafficking Awareness Training for Hospitality Industry
Sexual Harassment Training for Hospitality Managers
In Connecticut, sexual harassment in the workplace is prohibited by both federal law and the Connecticut Fair Employment Practices Act. Connecticut law currently requires employers to post a notice regarding sexual harassment and requires employers with 50 or more employees to provide 2 hours of training to all supervisory employees within 6 months of starting the supervisory position.
At Siegel O’Connor, we believe prevention is the best defense against sexual harassment liability. Our Hartford Sexual Harassment Defense Attorneys provide sexual harassment training and seminars, where employers and supervisors can learn what they should be doing to prevent sexual harassment, investigate claims of sexual harassment, and avoid liability to the best extent possible. Siegel O’Connor can also help employers when sexual harassment actions arise, covering every step of the process. https://siegeloconnor.com/sexual-harassment/
Mattress Stewardship Law
In 2013, Connecticut became the first state to pass comprehensive mattress stewardship legislation. Public Act 13-42 requires mattress manufacturers to establish a program to manage unwanted mattresses generated in Connecticut. The law assesses a fee at the point of sale to finance the program. When a consumer purchases a new mattress, there will be an additional fee charged. The retailer will transfer this money to the mattress manufacturers who will use it to pay for transportation and recycling of unwanted mattresses. This fee was initiated on May 1, 2015.